Monday, January 28, 2013


The Flaming Lips

The nine-track album was produced by Dave Fridmann and the Lips. The non-album track “Sun Blows Up Today” will be released January 29, when the digital pre-order for the album will begin. And “Sun Blows Up Today” will also be featured in a Hyundai commercial that will air during the Super Bowl [Feb 3].

As always, Flaming Lips’ frontman Wayne Coyne is being obtuse. In a press release he writes: “Why would we make this music that is The Terror - this bleak, disturbing record...?? I don't really want to know the answer that I think is coming: that WE were hopeless, WE were disturbed and, I think, accepting that some things are hopeless... or letting hope in one area die so that hope can start to live in another?? Maybe this is the beginning of the answer."

“We want, or wanted, to believe that without love we would disappear, that love, somehow, would save us that, yeah, if we have love, give love and know love, we are truly alive and if there is no love, there would be no life. The Terror is, we know now, that even without love, life goes on... we just go on… there is no mercy killing.”

The tracklisting is

1. “Look...The Sun Is Rising”
2. “Be Free, A Way”
3. “Try To Explain”
4. “You Lust”
5. “The Terror”
6. “You Are Alone”
7. “Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die”
8. “Turning Violent”
9. “Always There...In Our Hearts”

No comments:

Post a Comment