Friday, June 8, 2012


The Darkness
The Darkness have announced full details of their third studio album, Hot Cakes.

The album is their first since 2005’s One Way Ticket To Hell and Back. Hot Cakes (they plan it to “sell like hot cakes,” geddit?) will be released on August 20 via Play It Again Sam recordings and has been produced by singer and guitarist Justin and Dan Hawkins along with long-time collaborator Nick Brine.

Frontman Justin Hawkins said: “Hot Cakes has a nice raw feel to it like the first album had, with occasional luxurious moments akin to the second. We’re proud of the songs and we can’t wait for people to hear them. We’ve been playing a lot of the material from the album in the live set for some time now. Each time we play a new song it feels like a deep powerful thrust in a frenzied love ritual between us and our fans.”

The album also includes a cover of Radiohead's “Street Spirit (Fade Out),” of which Hawkins said: “We included the Radiohead cover because it has been a live favourite for many moons, and we wanted to release a definitive recording of our interpretation.”

Indeed, The Darkness have recorded it before. Listen here!

The tracklisting for Hot Cakes is:
1. “Every Inch Of You”
2. “Nothing's Gonna Stop Us”
3. “With A Woman”
4. “Keep Me Hangin' On”
5. “Living Every Day Blind”
6. “Everybody Having A Good Time”
7. “She Just A Girl Eddie”
8. “Forbidden Love”
9. “Concrete”
10. “Street Spirit (Fade Out)”
11. “Love Is Not The Answer”

No comments:

Post a Comment